Lady Gaga/Madonna Shoot

Last Thursday (4th March 2010) I had the pleasure of once again working with model Jessica on the first of many Female Icon Shoots we have planned.

The first two female icons we chose were Madonna and Lady Gaga; we were trying to recreate some of their poses and to try and capture their persona in a photograph. I set up the studio to have a 8:1 lighting ratio (if you don’t know what I mean 8:1 means the key light is 8 times stronger than the fill light basically is the intensity of the lights). 8:1 lighting ratio is generally what I use in the studio because I really like the dramatic effect it gives. I tend to set my key light on F/11 again my personal preferance. I also always use a backlight to light the background.

I guess I should also mention the camera I use since this is my first blog about my photography. I currently use a Nikon D300 DSLR camera which I spent a lot of time learning how to use. In the studio I set this to 200 ISO that’s the lowest ISO setting my camera will go to (I think it’s a Nikon thing unless someone would like to correct me) and I use a shutter speed of 125.

In the studio I normally play around with the lighting and go from a white background to a black background and usually play around with coloured gels. However on this shoot it wasn’t necessary for me to do so therefore kept to a simple white background.

Here are some of the Madonna I guess you could say ‘style’ images; these are two of my favourite images from the shoot I like the composition and the use of the flag. Also Jessica did a very good job of posing in these photos.

Madonna Style

Madonna Style

Here are some of the Lady Gaga Style images; again love Jessica’s poses in these photos.

Lady Gaga Style

Lady Gaga Style

One thought on “Lady Gaga/Madonna Shoot

  1. Hey this is a great story. I’m going to email this to my buddies. I stumbled on this while googling for some free song downloads, I’ll be sure to come back. thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

